Cothen is a village with about 3000 inhabitants. Since the Middle Ages, it was in possession of Utrecht's Domproosdij. But in 1795 there was an end to the rule. After a number of administrative changes, the former dishes Cothen and Dwarsdijk were eventually united to the municipality of Cothen in 1812. In 1996, the municipality was merged with Wijk bij Duurstede and Langbroek to the municipality of Wijk bij Duurstede.
Cothen is on the Kromme Rijn and has traditionally been a picturesque farming village. Sighted in Cothen, the area of the Brink and the orchard at the Crafts Road, which is designated as a protected village view. In addition, in the old part of the village is the protestant Agneskerk from the 13th century. Opposite the village center, on the opposite side of the Kromme Rijn, is the castle of the 13th century Rhine stone with its characteristic gatehouse. Other details include the trammen's house and the bridgehead. From the outside, the village view is dominated by the Oog in 't Zeil statue tower mill and the slender church tower of Saint Peter and Paulus church from 1905. Total Cothen 27 registrations in the national monument register.
Activities in and around Cothen include climbing the Oog in 't Zeil mill, Fancy fair Cothen, Fruit games, canoe rental, Cherry festival, Harvesting and renting a solex.