Wekerom (in Lower Saxony Wekerum) is a village in the northeast of the municipality of Ede in the Dutch province of Gelderland, located in the Gelderse Valley, near the Veluwe. The village has about 2500 inhabitants and most inhabitants are conservatively Christian and belong to the Reformed Churches.
In the story, the first name for Wicherumloo, the later Wekerom for the first time in 814. Wekerom originated on the flanks of the higher drafting grounds, where the first farms were built on locally emerging sand ridge along the Grote Valksebeek and the Willinkhuizerbeek. There are one more of these farms. Enlargement took place as a ribbon building in the intermediate zone along the current Edeseweg, which was gradually filled with buildings with different functions. Later, both north and south houses were built here, and an industrial site was built on the northeast side. There has probably also been a castle in the Netherlands called 'Het Laar' at Wekerom, a cemetery of 1826. From 1471, an enrollment is known from one Evert van Delen tot Laer to the Knights of the Veluwe. The site is registered as archaeological monument. The current farm the Laar is still over.
Near the village lies "Het Wekeromse Zand". This is a unique sand dusting area, 500 ha in size. In the middle of the forest is a large open plain (approx 100 ha) where the sand has a free game. Moeflons ensure that this sand surface is not "banned". For these moeflons the whole area is fenced and dogs are not allowed. This sand surface was created by intensive use of the soil in the early centuries. The fields became depleted, plaguing the ground for new fields, thus creating a large sandy plain.